Don’t Miss our General Membership Meeting on May 14!

It’s time for another COMTO Michigan membership meeting!  We are hosting Ms. Jessica Moy, Executive Director of the Michigan Infrastructure Council and Mr. Tony Kratofil, P.E., Chief Operations Officer at the Michigan Department of Transportation.  We will gather on May 14, 2019, 5:30 – 8:00 p.m. at the Horatio Williams Foundation, 1010 Antietam Ave, Detroit.  The Meeting is open to All.

Make plans to attend the 8th Annual COMTO Scholarship and Golf Outing

Okay golfers, time to purchase those new irons you’ve been thinking about! This year’s event will be held on Thursday, June 13 at the Fox Hills Golf and Banquet Center in Plymouth.   More information on registration and sponsorship opportunities can be found on the COMTO Michigan website.  We thank our Co-Chairs Kim Avery and Dee Parker for taking the lead in making this another successful COMTO event.

It is not Too Late to Be a Sponsor of at our Golf Outing! 

Being a Scholarship/Golf Outing Sponsor is an excellent opportunity to showcase your organization.  For more information on remaining Sponsorship Opportunities, please see the attached brochure.  Sponsorship ad deadlines are May 27, 2019 to be included in the program book.

The 2019 Pioneer Award Dinner

This was a family event, as members of COMTO Michigan joined together to celebrate their own at the Pioneer Award Dinner on Tuesday, April 23.  The chapter’s highest honor – the Annual Pioneer Award – was given to MDOT Director and long-time COMTO Michigan member, Paul Ajegba.  In his acceptance remarks, Paul noted that he stood on the shoulders of past Pioneer Award winners including former MDOT COO Greg Johnson, now Michigan Area Manager for WSP; current MDOT COO Tony Kratofil and Kirk Steudle, the immediate past director of MDOT.  In addition to honoring Paul, the chapter cited excellence by the following members:

  • Emerging Leader of the Year – Trebecca McDonald, HNTB
  • Member(s) of the Year – Bianca Graves, Leading Edge Business Solutions

Kim LeBlanc, Somat Engineering

  • Private Firm Executive of the Year – Nathan K. Ford, HNTB
  • Public Agency Executive of the Year – Beverly J. Watts, Wayne County Director of Public Services
  • Firm of the Year – Spalding DeDecker
  • DBE Firm(s) of the Year – E. Austell Associates and First Media Group
  • Innovative Project of the Year – The Michigan Department of Transportation and Somat Engineering for the Coal Mine Void Mitigation Design Phase II – Cooper Street/M-106 and I-94 Interchange – Blackman Township, Michigan

Congratulations to all for their outstanding achievements!

Additionally, thanks to all of the Pioneer Award Dinner sponsors:  HNTB Michigan, Dinner sponsor; Somat Engineering, Legacy sponsor; Friend of COMTO sponsors DLZ, E. Austell Associates, Mannik Smith Group, Michael Baker International, Michigan Paving and Materials, The Prewitt Group, Rowe Professional Services Company, Value Engineering and WSP; and Business Ad Sponsor Metro Strategies.

Finally, thanks to Pioneer Award Dinner Co-chairs Bianca Graves and Kim LeBlancand their committee for a great event and a fun evening!

Welcome New Members:

The following transportation organizations/individuals have joined COMTO in the past month:


Raja Jildeh, FTCH

Ashley Beaudrie, Rowe Engineering Services

Robin Scales-Wooten, Scales & Associates, Inc.

Manoj Sethi, DLZ

Christopher William, SEMCOG

Stephanie Taylor, SEMCOG

Let’s welcome them to the COMTO family!


Welcome Bianca Graves as the new COMTO Michigan Secretary!

Ruth Johnson has started a new position and is no longer able to meet her obligations as the Chapter’s Secretary.  We wish Ruth the best in her new career and thank her for her service on behalf of COMTO.  Bianca Graves has agreed to serve in an interim capacity until the Election for new chapter officers that will take place in May 2020.  We thank Bianca for her willingness to step in this role and help our Executive Team, Board and the Chapter fulfill the COMTO mission.  Her email address is

COMTO Headquarters has Relocated

COMTO national headquarters has moved. The new location is 1330 Braddock Place, Suite 203, Alexandria, VA 22314. Please  update the information in your contacts.

Join COMTO Today!

COMTO membership includes individuals, groups, transportation agencies, private- sector corporations, non-profit organizations, and Historically Underutilized Businesses (HUBs), representing professionals at all levels within all modes of transportation. Join COMTO Today to gain access to an exclusive national network of industry leaders.


COMTO (Conference of Minority Transportation Officials) is a national organization whose mission is to level the industry’s playing field to ensure maximum access and participation for minority individuals, businesses, and communities of color. COMTO carries out this mission through advocacy, information sharing, training, education and professional development.

Our chapter supports this effort by providing our members with statewide professional development, training and mentoring opportunities. To encourage the next generation of transportation leaders of color, we volunteer in schools and other community venues, and provide scholarships for students seeking careers in the industry.

Contact Us                              Follow Us

Email:                          Twitter: @COMTOMichigan

Mailing Address:                                                    Facebook: #MiCOMTO

P.O. Box 32439

Detroit, MI 48232                                                     LinkedIn: COMTO Michigan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *