Founded in 1971 the Conference Of Minority Transportation Officials (COMTO) was created to provide a forum for senior level minority professionals in the transportation industry. COMTO has thirty-nine (39) chapters throughout the United States, including our Michigan Chapter.


COMTO Michigan membership includes transportation agencies (The Ride, MDOT, DDOT, SMART, RTA), private sector corporations (Transportation Consultants, Construction Contractors), non-profit organizations (TRU), Disadvantaged Business Enterprises, and small businesses.


Our mission is to ensure opportunities and maximize participation in the transportation industry for minority individuals, businesses and communities of color through advocacy, information sharing, training, education and professional development in the state of Michigan.


COMTO Michigan will serve as an advocate for an effective and efficient multi-modal transportation network for all in Michigan.

Regine Beauboeuf
Sharmyn Elliott
Vice President
SOMAT Engineering
Bianca R. Graves
Leading Edge Business Solutions, LLC
Kim LeBlanc Treasurer
SOMAT Engineering

Dayo Akinyemi
City of Detroit

Nathan Ford

Myron Frierson
Retired Michigan Department of Transportation

Greg Johnson

Shaun Phillips
Planet M

Oge Udegbunam
Tyme Consulting Engineering

Beverly Watts
Wayne County



Several committees operate within COMTO Michigan, supporting the organization and providing members with an excellent opportunity to network and have fun.  

Communications Committee

Co-chairs Elnora Austell, E. Austell Associates and Delora Hall Tyler, First Media Group

Historically Underutilized Businesses (HUB) Committee

Chairperson: Terrence Hicks, Metro Strategies

Scholarship Committee

Co-chairs: Dee Parker, MDOT and Joshua Salazar, HDR

Golf Committee

Chairperson: Kim Avery, MDOT

Legislative Committee

Chairperson: Ryan Mitchell, MDOT

Membership Committee

Co-Chairs: Lindsey Curtis, MDOT and Joshua Salazar, HDR

Youth Outreach Committee 

Chairperson: Kay Adefeso, MDOT

Transportation Braintrust Committee

Pioneer Award Committee